U.S. President line of power

Curious to know who would become President of the United States if Bush and Cheney were knocked off? Most of you probably know it would be the Speaker of the House, Nancy Pelosi, and that President pro tempore of the Senate, Robert Byrd is next in line. But who’s after that and beyond? Below is a list of the Order of Presidential Succession:

* The Vice President Dick Cheney

* Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi

* President pro tempore of the Senate Robert Byrd

* Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice

* Secretary of the Treasury

* Secretary of Defense

* Attorney General

* Secretary of the Interior

* Secretary of Agriculture

* Secretary of Commerce

* Secretary of Labor

* Secretary of Health and Human Services

* Secretary of Housing and Urban Development

* Secretary of Transportation

* Secretary of Energy

* Secretary of Education

* Secretary of Veterans Affairs

* Secretary of Homeland Security

Curious about the order of the Cabinet positions, especially why Sec of Treasury is above Sec of Defense? The cabinet members are ordered in the line of succession according to the date their offices were established. Kinda lame if you ask me, but whatever.

Another interesting factoid that actually inspired this blog post. When the Vice President takes the Office of the President, there is no longer a Vice President. So when Truman, LBJ, and Ford assumed the Presidency they had no Vice President by their side.

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments